Subscribe to Newsletter

To subscribe to our newsletter simply add your email below. A confirmation email will be sent to you!

Waiting For The Water Master

Posted on

I AM COLLECTING RAIN WATER (catch as catch can)

SO I WILL BE WATERING MY VEGETABLE GARDEN
WITH THE RAINWATER I HAVE COLLECTED AND,
I SHALL BE WAITING FOR THE WASHINGTON STATE WATER MASTER
(to see if I have violated a WA State Water law)
———————————————————————–
Yesterday I worked in my garden
I planted potatoes, green pole beans, harvested rhubarb and Swiss chard, pruned my apple tree, got my zucchini, sweet pod pea, tomatoes plant area cleaned up. I still need to weed my raspberries and blackberries.

BUT CAN I AFFORD TO WATER MY VEGETABLE GARDEN IN PORT ANGELES WA ?

I have been/am paying the city of Port Angeles nearly $1128.00 a year for the WATER RELATED COSTS on my utility bill and NOW an additional $108.00 for STORMWATER run off on my 2013 Clallam County property tax.

That is $1236.00 year in WATER RELATED COSTS for about $40.00 a year worth of WATER consumption. WATER SHORTAGE? conserve water? I always have.

So my plan is,
CIVIL DISOBEDIENCE?
(who knows for sure what the WA STATE WATER laws are?)
COLLECT RAINWATER NOW, fill one gallon milk containers with rainwater and distribute the containers around in my garden. It serves a two fold purpose, now, during the day the sun heats the water, during the night the plants stay warm from the water containers. The more containers I fill now, the more gallons of RAINWATER I will have to water my garden this summer when it is hot and dry.

SO I SHALL BE WATERING MY VEGETABLE GARDEN
WITH THE RAINWATER I HAVE COLLECTED
WAITING FOR THE WASHINGTON STATE WATER MASTER
(to see if I have violated a WA State Water law)

RCW 90.03.090
WATER MASTER’S POWER OF ARREST.
The water master shall have the power, within his or her district, to arrest any person in the act of violating any of the provisions of this chapter and to deliver such person promptly into the custody of the sheriff or other competent officer within the county and immediately upon such delivery the water master making the arrest shall, in writing and upon oath, make complaint before the proper district judge against the person so arrested.

[1987 c 202 § 250; 1917 c 117 § 12; RRS § 7362. Formerly RCW 90.08.030.]

RCW 90.03.040

RCW 90.03.400

Crimes against water code — Unauthorized use of water.

(1)(a) The unauthorized use of water to which another person is entitled or the willful or negligent waste of water to the detriment of another, is a misdemeanor.

(b) For instances of the waste of water under this subsection, the department may alternatively follow the sequence of enforcement actions as provided in RCW 90.03.605.

(2) The possession or use of water without legal right shall be prima facie evidence of the guilt of the person using it.

(3) It is also a misdemeanor to use, store, or divert any water until after the issuance of permit to appropriate such water.

[2003 1st sp.s. c 15 § 2; 2003 c 53 § 418; 1917 c 117 § 40; RRS § 7392. Formerly RCW 90.32.010.]

Notes:

Reviser’s note: The effective date of 2003 c 53 § 418 is July 1, 2004. However, 2003 c 53 § 418 was amended by 2003 1st sp.s. c 15 § 2 which has an effective date of September 9, 2003. Consequently, the effective date of this section is September 9, 2003.

Intent — Effective date — 2003 c 53: See notes following RCW 2.48.180.

Punishment of misdemeanor when not fixed by statute: RCW 9.92.030.

Notes:

Intent — 1987 c 202: See note following RCW 2.04.190.

Eminent domain — Use of water declared public use.

The beneficial use of water is hereby declared to be a public use, and any person may exercise the right of eminent domain to acquire any property or rights now or hereafter existing when found necessary for the storage of water for, or the application of water to, any beneficial use, including the right to enlarge existing structures employed for the public purposes mentioned in this chapter and use the same in common with the former owner, and including the right and power to condemn an inferior use of water for a superior use. In condemnation proceedings the court shall determine what use will be for the greatest public benefit, and that use shall be deemed a superior one: PROVIDED, That no property right in water or the use of water shall be acquired hereunder by condemnation for irrigation purposes, which shall deprive any person of such quantity of water as may be reasonably necessary for the irrigation of his land then under irrigation to the full extent of the soil, by the most economical method of artificial irrigation applicable to such land according to the usual methods of artificial irrigation employed in the vicinity where such land is situated. In any case, the court shall determine what is the most economical method of irrigation. Such property or rights shall be acquired in the manner provided by law for the taking of private property for public use by private corporations.

[1917 c 117 § 4; RRS § 7354. Formerly RCW 90.04.030.]

Notes:

Eminent domain by corporations: Chapter 8.20 RCW.

Application — 2009 c 332: “Except for section 14 of this act, this act applies only to adjudications initiated after July 26, 2009.” [2009 c 332 § 21.]

Purpose — Short title — Construction — Rules — Severability — Captions — 1987 c 109: See notes following RCW 43.21B.001.

Additional powers and duties enumerated — Payment for from reclamation account: RCW 89.16.055.

Application of RCW sections to specific proceedings: RCW 90.14.200.

Schedule of fees: RCW 90.03.470.

from Pearl L. Hewett

Port Angeles WA 98362

PS: Better check your trees for tent caterpillars. (get them while they are small)
My apple, flowering plum and cherry trees are covered.

==========

Pearl Rains Hewett is an activist and researcher.  She has posted excellent information on her website: www.behindmyback.org.

In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, any copyrighted work in this message is distributed under fair use without profit or payment for non-profit research and educational purposes only. [Ref. http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml]

Search Citizen Review ARCHIVES for keywords, stories

 

Search Citizen Review
(Current News - from Jan. 2012 to present)

Note about Searching this Website

If you wish to use this website to research by topic or keyword, there are TWO search engines - one for the current stories as posted in our Wordpress format, and the ARCHIVE search engines, which goes back in time to 1999.  Be sure to use both to access stories relative to your search that covers both time periods. - Ed.